Skip to content
Events

Water, Weather & Environment

Radar’s role in hydrology today

Date

May 23, 2024

Location

Webinar (Zoom)

hybrid photo of the underside of a bridge where a HyQuant non-contact radar sensor has been mounted and illustration of contactless radar technology to measure water level and water level

Radar’s role in hydrology today

1-hour webinar with experts on discharge and water level radar technology

 

Date and time

for Americas 23 May 2024 starts at 10:00 AM EDT  |  9:00 AM CDT  |  7:00 AM PDT
for EMEA 23 May 2024 starts at 16:00 CET | 09:00 UTC-5
for APAC 23 May 2024 starts at 14:00 AEST

Register for EMEA & Americas Register for APAC

Price

For free

Description

In today’s increasingly stressed water, weather, and environmental systems, the ability to collect accurate, real-time information while protecting water professionals and communities is attracting a great deal of interest.

Whether you are new to radar hydrology — the use of radar technology for water measurement — or want to discover the latest monitoring advances, don’t miss this opportunity to gain valuable insights and participate in a Q&A session.

Radar hydrology experts Stefan Siedschlag, Dr. Anton Felder, and Edgar Wetzel will describe the role of radar in hydrological monitoring and analysis. They will focus exclusively discharge and water level, in particular.

Learn how non-contact measurement devices remove all interference from the medium being measured, providing an unbiased means of assessing quantitative changes in water bodies. Also discover how advanced water monitoring delivers real-time insights into river dynamics, allowing for better drought and flood management in addition to optimizing water resources.

Agenda

  • Use of radar in hydrology
  • How radar technology can contribute to the understanding and management of water resources
  • Real-life examples of the effectiveness of radar in hydrological monitoring and analysis


About the speakers

  • Stefan Siedschlag
    Stefan Siedschlag is a renowned flow measurement expert with more than four decades of experience. Throughout his career, Stefan has held key positions at leading institutions such as Quantum Hydrometry and OTT HydroMet, where he has played an integral role in product development, training and consultancy. As a member of DIN, the German Standards Committee, he has made a significant contribution to industry standards. He now focuses on sharing his expertise through his upcoming book, Introduction to Discharge Measurement in Rivers and Open Channels.
  • Dr. Anton Felder
    With over 35 years of experience in hydrology and meteorology in both research and industry, Anton is currently Director of Business Unit HydroMet at KISTERS. He was previously Managing Director and President of OTT HydroMet for over 25 years. Anton is also Chairman of  the Board of Synoptic Data and a Council member of the Hydrometeorological and Environmental Industry Association (HMEI).
  • Edgar Wetzel
    As Head of Product Management (Instrumentation) at KISTERS AG, Edgar Wetzel spearheads advancements in hydrometeorological monitoring solutions. With 35+ years of expertise in environmental monitoring, meteorology, hydrology, noise mapping and air-pollution, Edgar oversees innovation projects driving cutting-edge sensor technology, data management software, and scientific applications — all aimed at enhancing environmental sustainability. 

 

Reserve your place now and be part of the exciting conversation shaping the future of hydrology.

Register for EMEA & Americas Register for APAC

 

Register for webinar

Save your virtual seat for this event and stay informed with the link to login.